Flowers in the Grass

I photographed these in the Botanic Gardens here in Cambridge, and I think they are primroses and not oxlips or cowslips. They are tricky to tell one from the other. I am pretty sure they are not cowslips because cowslips are deeper yellow.

Look at the flower at lower left (the one that is partly behind a blade of grass) and you will see that the flower is on a stalk, which you can’t see from the flowers that were the focus of my attention.

Technical: Photographed handheld with a Fuji X100s at a shutter speed of 1/55 of a second at f5.6 and ISO 400 with exposure compensation of minus one-third of a stop.

I shot with exposure compensation so as not to blow out the pale flowers and still they were overexposed. I processed the photo in Adobe Photoshop and pulled back the highlights to show detail in the petals. Now when I look at the photo I see the droplets of water on the flowers, which I didn’t see when I took the shot.

Deleting A Site

I wanted to delete one of my sites on WordPress.com. I had set it up simply to see how the process of setting up a site had changed since the last time I had set one up.

I thought that I should go to Settings by going to the admin panel in the site and scrolling down to Settings/General and that I would see the option to delete the blog.

But no, the option to delete the site did not appear there. In fact, as I learned from Support that the place to go is this (substituting the name of your site for the words ‘yoursitename’, of course.

wordpress.com/settings/general/yoursitename.wordpress.com

I looked in the backend, wondering how I would have found this URL had I not asked Support – and I could not see a route in.

After deleting the site that I wanted to delete, I looked again at the Delete Site instruction page from WP.com at the following page and thought it might be out of date.

https://wordpress.com/support/delete-site/

So I raised it in the Support forum for the topic of the Unified Navigation, and received a nice reply that explained that the delete site instruction on the support page is not out of date, but because I have the advanced dashboard page setting on, I did not see the interface that is shown on the support page. I would have to disable the setting and then follow the instructions to delete the page.

Staff said that at the very least, they need to note on the support page that one needs to disable the setting in order to delete a site under one’s account, and thanked me for my input. That gave me a nice warm glow.

Unified Navigation

The Unified Navigation changes are a hot topic and a very hot and bothered topic.

%d bloggers like this: